J1 conrad waiver , USCIS delay

fjabbar

Hi everyone,

I am a physician, my J1 visa expired so I returned to my home country after signing a J1 waiver job (Conrad 30 waiver in Kentucky).

Department of state has already sent a favorable recommendation to USCIS but I have not heard anything for almost 7 weeks now.

When I checked on website with receipt number, it says "Initial review pending". Yesterday I called USCIS and they told me that they are currently working on I-612 from 15th Sept, 2013 while mine is received on Feb 3rd 2014 ?

I thought that was crazy. Does that mean my application is 4.5 months behind ? anyone else in the same boat ?

This is my timeline

Oct 30th, 2013 --- J1 waiver application filed.
Dec 22nd, 2013 --- Kentucky state approved (40 applicants for 30 slots) and sent it to department of state in Washington DC
Jan 27th, 2014 --- DOS approved it and sent a favorable recommendation to USCIS
Feb 3rd, 2014 --- USCIS in VERMONT received the case & issued receipt I 797 suggesting started processing.
Feb 26th 2014 --- H1b premium processing was filed while USCIS approval pending
March 13th 2014 --- H1b processing is complete and I 129 issued (no USCIS approval yet)

Since USCIS final waiver approval is still pending so cant take visa interview date in my country, further delaying the process.

Thanks

• 2 weeks later...

Its more then 2 months now, no sign of USCIS I-612 coming ? anyone else in the same boat ?

Wow, this is a really long time. I'm not sure if the person you spoke with had a way to know the cases they were working on and might be confused with hardship or persecution I-612. You could try calling them again, but I'm afraid there isn't much one can do except for wait. 

Hi eurodoc,

I have some news for you.