TA RA while on H1B

ready2go

I work full time on H1B visa. I am also a full time graduate student (evening courses).

I have an opportunity to become either a Teaching Assistant or Research Assistant at my university.

Both positions provides full tuition waiver and a stipend.

1) I believe, I can not receive renumeration from other employment while on H1B unless university files for concurrent H1 B for me (which I don't think they would do). Correct?

2) Can I take up TA/RA position with just the tuition waiver (no stipend) along with my H1 B?

3) Can I take up TA/RA position without any money attached to it, as a volunteer?

Accepting any of these position will not impact my full time job in any way. (Research will be done in weekends and Teaching will be done in evening). I am more interested in doing Option 2 above, if possible.

Thanks.

I work full time on H1B visa. I am also a full time graduate student (evening courses).

I have an opportunity to become either a Teaching Assistant or Research Assistant at my university.

Both positions provides full tuition waiver and a stipend.

1) I believe, I can not receive renumeration from other employment while on H1B unless university files for concurrent H1 B for me (which I don't think they would do). Correct?

2) Can I take up TA/RA position with just the tuition waiver (no stipend) along with my H1 B?

3) Can I take up TA/RA position without any money attached to it, as a volunteer?

Accepting any of these position will not impact my full time job in any way. (Research will be done in weekends and Teaching will be done in evening). I am more interested in doing Option 2 above, if possible.

Thanks.

1. Yes.

2. I believe yes as it is considered as a fellowship/scholarship. Not 100% sure though. Talk to your university H1B team.

3. Nope, as it is considered as a paid position.

No reasonable university would provide TA/RA for full time worker - on H1B or USC.  Do they know your work status?