H1(cap exempt)-H4-H1

h4spouse

Hello,

I did my Masters here and got my first job at a university on my F1-OPT. My employer(University) applied my H1 and it was valid from 2009 Aug to 2012 Aug. However, due to a departmental reorg, I was laid off in May 2011 after which I went back to my Home country(India). I returned to US in Dec 2012 on H4. I am thinking of starting to work again. Here are my querries:

1. Since my previous H1 was a cap-exempt one, can my future employer file my H1 anytime(i.e, in Dec 2013 or later). Will I be cap exempted again?

2. If so, will it be a H1 transfer or a new H1 under Master's quota.

3.After layoff, I am sure that my H1 was revoked or cancelled. So, will I be still be able to claim my previous H1 unused period(i.e, May 2011 to Aug 2012).

4.Since I was away from the country for more than 1 year(May 2011-Dec 2012) and also since I am on H4 since Dec 2012-till date, does my 6 yr H1 period gets exhausted.

Thank you for reading my question and for your valueble inputs.

Hello,

I did my Masters here and got my first job at a university on my F1-OPT. My employer(University) applied my H1 and it was valid from 2009 Aug to 2012 Aug. However, due to a departmental reorg, I was laid off in May 2011 after which I went back to my Home country(India). I returned to US in Dec 2012 on H4. I am thinking of starting to work again. Here are my querries:

1. Since my previous H1 was a cap-exempt one, can my future employer file my H1 anytime(i.e, in Dec 2013 or later). Will I be cap exempted again?

2. If so, will it be a H1 transfer or a new H1 under Master's quota.

3.After layoff, I am sure that my H1 was revoked or cancelled. So, will I be still be able to claim my previous H1 unused period(i.e, May 2011 to Aug 2012).

4.Since I was away from the country for more than 1 year(May 2011-Dec 2012) and also since I am on H4 since Dec 2012-till date, does my 6 yr H1 period gets exhausted.