EAD Sponsoring Employer

varun813

Hello Forumites, 

I have couple of questions for you in regards to EAD with sponsoring employer. 

1. Can I work for another employer/self employment and still keep the EAD with my sponsoring employer

• Do not want to do a job change or port it out...just don't want to add more complexity with few more applications.

2. Can I have the EAD with sponsoring employer without working and no payroll for any period of time. 

• Will it pose any issues with my EAD renewals in future or on I-485 approval decision. 

I understand that as long as I have a valid job offer at the time of GC, I should be good...but confirming with the experts here that I interpreted it correctly. 

So, if my Sponsoring employer is willing to provide a job offer letter at the time of GC or I-485 approval, is that all needed. 

Please help me out if I missed anything or any other additional information. 

Thank you!!!

I'm not a lawyer but answering this from my experience

1. Can I work for another employer/self employment and still keep the EAD with my sponsoring employer

You can work for another employer on the same EAD as long as your job description and duties remain the same. Self employment would be risky, you might not want to validate your own employment if there is an RFE

2. Can I have the EAD with sponsoring employer without working and no payroll for any period of time. 

If you dont have a work visa and are only working on EAD and you choose not to work, you would be considered out of status. If you are unable to work due to sickness or ailment, get a doctor's letter and apply for leave at your employer. How are you planning to validate your employment without payroll?

1. EAD is a benefit of your pending AOS and is not connected to your current employer. On EAD you can work for anyone or not as long as you will be able to provide an EVL if asked by the USCIS.