Renewing student visa on OPT

andy_usa

Hi,

I am doing my PhD in Engineering in the US, and had to return to India in Nov 2012 without finishing my PhD because of family emergency. My student visa had expired in July 2012 itself, and I had got I-20 extended until Nov 2012. When I left in Nov, my post-completion OPT was under processing (I was expecting to graduate in Dec).

Since I have been in India, I have not yet graduated, and am now wanting to go back to the US. I could not go to US till now because my OPT had not arrived. My OPT just arrived, and now I am thinking about going for F1 visa interview in early May at Mumbai consulate.

I am a little worried. Can my visa be denied at this point? I do not have a job offer in hand to be able to re-enter the US. I may be able to obtain a job as a volunteer in the next few days, but that's about it.

I obviously have to go to the US and finish my PhD degree requirements. Please let me know if there could be problems during the F1 interview or at the port of entry, and what my options are at this point. Thank you.

Thanks for your answer.

I want get some things clarified before going to an attorney. Like I mentioned, I will get a job as a volunteer with my professor itself (who is my PhD advisor). And we can certainly make it clear that the job is important part of my training education.

And isn't the fact that I have not graduated still, in my favour, if anything? It seems like it is certainly a fair call to seek a student visa when degree is not completed, and a family emergency warranted travel out of the country.