H1B RFE- Civil Engineering

Hi,

I recently got a RFE for my H1B petition. I have a MS and a Bachelors in Civil Engineering. I work for a government planning organization in Transportation Engineering. The RFE requested further details about my job description, some of the specific tasks I work on, percentage of time spent o each task and also to explain why the position needs someone with atleast a Bachelors degree with certain technical skills.

Also, they are asking for Licensing proof. My job doesn't require me to have any kind of license. Even though I have an E.I.T from NC and currently I am working in NE, I have read somewhere on this forum that they have questioned the validity of E.I.T from one state in another state. They said that if my job doesn't require a license , I need to get a letter from the state licensing agency attesting the same.

Please let me know if anyone else has received anything similar.

EITs are transferable.

They have good reason to ask about licensure since many jobs requiring Civil Engineering degreesalso require licensing in the state in which someone is working. The fact someone else may not have been asked has no bearing on your case. The fact no license is required may indicate that it is not a BS/MS degree level position; many support tasks such as drafting/CAD do not require university degrees. Either get the evidence they requested or be denied.

EIT or similar title is a well qualified position..EIT itsef is a good enough certification for H1B job..

the labor dept. job description says EITs(or similar) work under PEs....hope ur boss is PE..if asked, check NCEES website for EIT reciprocity..

chosing a lawyer familiar with CIvil Eng H1 applications could have avoided these problems to u..generally a well drafted cover letter by attorney addresses these.

• 3 weeks later...
  • 6 months later...

What....Civil Engineers even have jobs here in US, ok good luck