AOS or CP? Which is preferable.

Sripad

I worked as a consultant for Employer A(a desi consulting company) and thorugh that company I applied for my Green Card process.As part of that, I got my Labor and I-140 approved a couple of yrs back.

Subsequently, due to personal reasons, I had to go back to India and I joined a MNC(Employer B) in India but my previous employer had my green card processing alive. I had even changed my GC process to consular processing since I went back to India.

Now, my present employer(Employer B) with whom I work, sent me to US on a work assignment(H1B) and now, my dates are close to becoming current for my Green card process(The date my GC process becomes current is Aug 2008 filed through Employer A).

1. Since I am in US now, ideally I can change my GC process from consular processing to adjustment of status. But, can I change it to adjustment of status after the dates become current or do I have to file a motion before the dates become current.

2. I would also like to know how good are the chances of getting the immigrant visa through consular processing so that it will be helpful to decide whether I should change it to adjustment of status or keep it as consular processing itself.

A speedy reply from the attorney as soon as possible will be really appreciated.

Whent the dates become current and I go for the consular processing, it is understood that I will be going back to my previous employer(Employer A) for my work when I get my immigrant visa stamped. Also, the Green Card is for future employment and so it cannot be tied to a particular employer though I understand that for some time after I get my immigrant visa stamped and come to US, I will have to work for the employer who filed by GC.

1. Please correct me if my above understanding is not right.