Applying for H4 with past Class A Misdemeanor charge

singsingh

Hello,

I was charged with a Class A misdemeanor charge of selling alcohol to a minor while i was a student in 2007 in TX. I graduated December,2007 and moved to another state for work. An arrest warrant was issued around July,2008. I went back to TX and appeared for the warrant, they took me to prison where they took my picture, my fingerprints, etc., and was released on bail. From there, with the documents, I went to a lawyer. He postponed the hearing to about October,2008. We pleaded "no contest", as he advised. I was given 12 months of probation time and 24 hrs community service and some fines.

My lawyer said that i was charged but not convicted of any crime.

I remained out of TX for my work and i reported to my probation officer on time every month, and paid the amounts due. My probation period ended around September/October,2009. I got a letter from the court saying I had completed my probation.

Meanwhile, my company filed for my H1B visa and i got the visa which came into effect from October,2008.

In 2009, I applied for a scholarship in a school and got it. I then requested for a change of status with USCIS, using form I-539. I received a RFE on November, 2009.

I married my then girlfriend a few weeks after I got the RFE. She was on OPT.

I had resigned from my company once I got the confirmation from the school for the scholarship. So I could not provide the last paystub that was asked for in the RFE, and i was denied the change of status. Some excerpts from the Letter of decision follows:

".......although the applicant will be in a "period of authorized stay" the applicant's nonimmigrant status will expire prior to the program start date listed on the SEVIS I-20. As such, USCIS must deny this request for a change of status because the applicant will have failed to maintain a valid nonimmigrant status until the requested program start date listed on the SEVIS I-20.