Success Story: 221(G) Blue Slip Ottawa

manufacturingirl

4th April : I attended Visa interview at US consulate, Ottawa. I have a Masters in Chemical Engineering and I work for a Manufacturing company as a Process Engineer. This is my second stamping, and I am working for a different employer. My first H-1B stamping was also at Ottawa in 2015 and I had no issues whatsoever.

Consular officer asked about employer and about my research. She just asked for my CV and issued 221g blue slip. Only one item was ticked "you application needs additional processing before a final decision can be made". She also asked me to send my CV in an email to the email address listed in the blue slip. Passport and all documents were returned to me. I sent the email with my CV on the same day. Instantly received an automated response asking not to contact them until 60 business days have passed.

At CEAC website, passport tracking showed "Admin Processing" Case created: March 31 and Case Updated April 4 (day of interview).

5th April: Received an email response to my CV email containing just one word: "Received"

18th April: Sent a frustrated email (same email listed in blue slip) asking about extending timelines and updates on my case. Received the typical automated response and a couple of hours later another generic email which had the same content as the automated response but just sounded nicer. 

19th April: Received an email from the CEAC website with instructions on how to drop off my passport for "further visa processing" with a list of Canada Post Centers where it can be dropped of. Asked to include passport, actual 221G form and another sheet of paper that came with the email. Dropped off said contents at Canada Post. CEAC Website still showed status as Admin Processing with last updated date as April 4. 

20th April: Tracking showed that Passport was delivered to the Consulate.