I-140 experience with current company

pankaj95

hi,

I am working for current company for last 8 years. I have three years of prior work experience in India, and 4 years B.E. degree from India.

I got PERM approval for EB-2 last week. Now I am ready to file I-140. But I noticed, In the ETA Form 9089, on page no.6 , line J-21, 'NO' is check marked for the question did the alien gain any of the qualifying experience with the employer in a position substantially comparable to the job opportunity requested ?

If we do not count experience with the current employer, I have only 3 years of expirence which is not enough for EB-2.

what is my options now ?

Most likely whoever prepared your case properly checked the box since the experience you gained even with the sponsoring employer was not in a position substantially comparable to the job opportunity requested, otherwise you would not be able to use that experience to qualify you for the position.

I recommend that you contact a knowledgeable immigration attorney in regard to your case so that they can review exactly what was filed for you and make sure that it was prepared correctly and discuss your options if it was not\.

The Murthy Law Firm has a very well-regarded Greencard Department with extensive experience who would be able to provide you with excellent assistance. Please feel free to call our office to schedule a consultation with one of our attorneys.

• 2 months later...

Even I am facing the similar problem for my I 140. In my case I worked in India for 6 years before I came here in 2007. Now the USCIS wants an experience letter from my first company, which unfortunately has closed down. I tried getting in touch with my ex- colleagues to get a notarized letter from them but of no avail. I have submitted my offer letter, salary certificate and releaving letter, but they are insisting on the experience letter.

Please advise me if there is any other way around.

• 2 weeks later...