OPT employment relation to field of study

sg654

Hi, 

I am a PhD student in Physics from an Ivy league school and have an offer to work in a bank. One of the conditions of OPT is a direct relation between the job and course of study. I have letters from my hiring manager and thesis advisor about how techniques developed in my PhD will be used in my work for financial modeling. 

Is this adequate or do I need to furnish additional documents in case this comes up during my OPT or later?

Thanks!

@ Rahul: Physicists working in wall street is very common, see: http://guava.physics.uiuc.edu/~nigel/finance.html. They are hired in 'quant' roles for doing quantitative modeling.

@Jai: Thanks for your response. Can you explain in a little more detail. It might help to know that I did a CPT (which also has a similar course of study related to work employment.) with the same bank for 3 months. Theoretical physics doesn't really have any 'practical' training and so many graduates find jobs in 'big data' and financial modeling to apply their quantitative skills in practical settings. 

@ Rahul: Physicists working in wall street is very common, see: http://guava.physics.uiuc.edu/~nigel/finance.html. They are hired in 'quant' roles for doing quantitative modeling.

@Jai: Thanks for your response. Can you explain in a little more detail. It might help to know that I did a CPT (which also has a similar course of study related to work employment.) with the same bank for 3 months. Theoretical physics doesn't really have any 'practical' training and so many graduates find jobs in 'big data' and financial modeling to apply their quantitative skills in practical settings. 

Quantitative analyst roles in Wall Street with Quantum Physics knowledge is genuinely interesting. But, did you read the following sentences.