Applying for my mom's visitor visa after 2 rejections

lakulish

Hi everybody,

I am an Indian citizen working in the US on OPT  (currently on STEM extension), which began when I graduated from graduate school with a PhD in computer science in May 2013. Until then, I was in the US for 5 years on an F1 student visa. I have applied for an O1 visa, which is currently being processed.

I would like my mother to visit me for a couple of months. In the past, she has applied for a visitor visa (once in 2010, and once in 2011), and was rejected both times under Section 214(b). Here are the relevant details about her case:

* She is a widow.

* She is now over 60 years old (she was under 60 years old at the time of the previous two rejections).

* She lives in a rented apartment in Mumbai.

* She has a good bank balance, investment portfolio, etc.

* She is a housewife.

* I am an only child, i.e., I do not have any siblings.

* Both times, she opted to self-sponsor.

* Consequently, I did not send an I-134 affidavit of support.

In both interviews, the consular office did not look at any documents she brought, but just asked a few questions about what I do and about her financial situation. The officer then summarily rejected the visa, and gave her the standard 214(b) letter.

So the questions I have are:

* What things can I change to improve her chances at getting a visa?

* How much difference might it make if she were to own her apartment?

* Would it help if I provided an I-134? Or is better for her to continue self-sponsoring?

* I have read the FAQ about letters from senators/congressmen. In this particular case, how likely are they to help?

Any assistance in this regard would be appreciated. Let me know if I should provide further details about any aspect.

Thanks!

No Congressman knows your mother to attest to her circumstances. They cannot order that a visa be issued.