H1B with Desi Software Consultant, Maternity

davidshaw

Dear All:

- I have been working for my H1B-employer for over 2 years and my H1B is good till 2016

- I am currently working on a client site through my H1B-employer

- My current contract with this client (through my H1B-employer) is good till Dec 2014

- I am pregnant and expecting a baby in Oct 2014

- What are my rights as far as maternity leave is concerned?

Specifically:

- What if my client decides to cancel my contract when they find out I'm pregnant, can my H1B-employer lay-off or fire me?

- I assume my client can probably terminate my contract if I take a 2-3 month leave for pregnancy (since I'm not their employee)

- But can my H1B-employer lay-off or fire me since I my contract with client is terminated? 

- Am I eligible for any benefits like maternity leave, FMLA etc?

PS: I cannot go on H4 as my husband recently lost his job and he is on a dependent visa.

Thanks for your help!

Regards,

DS

- What if my client decides to cancel my contract when they find out I'm pregnant, can my H1B-employer lay-off or fire me?

- I assume my client can probably terminate my contract if I take a 2-3 month leave for pregnancy (since I'm not their employee)

- But can my H1B-employer lay-off or fire me since I my contract with client is terminated? 

- that's up to your employer. If he has job for you then he won't

-that's not your problem. Your employer has to make sure that you have a job on H1

-Again that's up to your employer

-Yes.

Dear All:

- I have been working for my H1B-employer for over 2 years and my H1B is good till 2016

- I am currently working on a client site through my H1B-employer

- My current contract with this client (through my H1B-employer) is good till Dec 2014

- I am pregnant and expecting a baby in Oct 2014

- What are my rights as far as maternity leave is concerned?

Specifically:

PS: I cannot go on H4 as my husband recently lost his job and he is on a dependent visa.