Question about converting from LPR to USC while filing for spouse's LPR

yashsharma91

Hi, I am a Lawful Permanent resident and been in the country for ~3.5 years now (all this time I was in LPR status). My fiance and I are getting married in Dec'14 and she is planning on enrolling in school full time from fall (Aug'14) and will graduate in May'16.

Given how the job market is, I think it'll greatly help if she has a green card when she graduates. I am from India (so is she) and I doubt if the F2A visa category will progress anytime soon from the Sep'13 cutoff it's at currently (I dont have an F2A petition yet since we're not married yet). I hope to get some clarity around the process on this forum and hoping I get some good insights.

Based on my knowledge, I can apply for naturalized citizenship at 5 years with LPR status mark, which will be in Dec'15. Although I am not sure at what point I can begin the process and how much time it takes to fully get the processing done, before I can apply for my wife's (then) green card in the IR category instead of the F2A category. I've heard varying information thus far, ranging from starting the naturalization process at 4 year mark, or 4.5 years or 4 years and 9 month mark...and so on

Can anyone shed some light on this? Or provide insights on how the process could work for me? I got my LPR a while back, but have only been in US since Dec'10, so I wish to know when can I apply for becoming a US citizen, get my citizenship, apply for my wife's green card/PR in immediate relative category and when does she get it? any idea on how the steps might work (any chances of simultaneous filing at any of these steps?) and associated times with them would be of great help. Please help out! Thanks.