Successful Visa Stamping Experience @ Calgary

calgaryvisa365

Hello Guys and girls, here's my visa stamping experience at Calgary. Hope you get some valuable insight into the process at Calgary.

After, 2 long years of wait, I am finally done with my Visa stamping at Calgary consulate on May 3rd 2014. I’m currently working as a FTE for a manufacturing firm in NJ.

This is my first H1B stamping. I completed my master’s in 2011 from a reputed university in Texas, worked on OPT for around 1 year and since then until now on H1B and my GC process is on track.

I flew from Philadelphia to Calgary. I just booked a one way ticket to Calgary since I was not sure of my return date. The Canadian Border security officer seems to be very familiar with Indian faces in the airport, the moment I reached her window, she asked me if I came here for H1B visa stamping, and immediately approved my entry into Canada.

The hotels in Canada in general seem to be very expensive. I stayed at Holiday Inn Calgary airport, and paid around 110$ per day. There are other hotels around downtown which may be cheaper, but I took into consideration the reviews on hotels.com which favored Holiday Inn prior to my booking. Even though it was expensive, it was one of the best hotels I’ve ever stayed in.

On the day of the interview, took my folder containing all my files, documents, and reached the consulate 1 hr. prior to my interview. Interview was at 10.00 AM. I stood in line for 30 mins. And only then realized that there was no provision/locker facility at the consulate to store our personally belongings. I then had to rush back to the hotel, just to drop my cell phone. (Please BEWARE of this, no electronics allowed, no excuses, local stores around the plaza do not hold your belongings) I came back 10 mins before the interview, and the line was too long. Don’t worry; even if you have your interview at 9 or 10 am and you are late, your interview is valid until 12 noon that day.