OPT expiring H1b not applied - options?

zubi1015

Hi,

I finished my MS in Computer Engineering and my OPT began even before I graduated. Right now, my F1 has already expired and my legal status is only a valid OPT. However, my OPT expires in July (no extension allowed thereafter). I haven't been able to find a job yet that sponsors my H1b visa so there's a very slim chance that my H1b will be filed in April. If I wish to stay in the US after my OPT expires, what are the options I have?

Hi,

I finished my MS in Computer Engineering and my OPT began even before I graduated. Right now, my F1 has already expired and my legal status is only a valid OPT. However, my OPT expires in July (no extension allowed thereafter). I haven't been able to find a job yet that sponsors my H1b visa so there's a very slim chance that my H1b will be filed in April. If I wish to stay in the US after my OPT expires, what are the options I have?

Don't you have OPT extension?

Go home, get experience, continue looking for H1B sponsoring employer (like the one you go to work for in your home country).

A US degree was NEVER a guarantee of a US job.  If you job was from a quality institution, I do not know why you are having trouble finding a job.  Did you go to one of the F1 diploma mills?

In continuation to HelpMeForum's response -

He is right, your chances of getting H1B once you go home are almost zero. 

Be careful about joining another Masters program - you will NOT get OPT after graduating from another masters degree. You get OPT only once for each level of degree, and you have used your OPT for masters degree. Enrolling into another Masters program will not get you another OPT.

Enrolling into PhD is another option. Once you finish PhD, you will be eligible for another OPT. But PhD is no joke - it takes 5-7 yrs to finish PhD.