OPT STEM Extension

febsenthu

Dear Members - 

I did my Masters from US University. After my graduation have used my both OPT and OPT Extension. Have returned to my home country after completion of my OPT STEM Extension. 

H1b Visa was applied for me and Since I am leaving the country the Petition was withdrawn by my employer in the midst when it was pending.

Now I am planning for Doctoral Degree program in STEM field at US University.

Question 1 : Am I Eligible for OPT for Doctoral Degree Program ?

Question 2 : Am I Eligible for OPT Stem Extension for Doctoral Degree program in STEM field

Regards

Senthil

A person who has used OPT is eligible for a new OPT after completion of a higher degree.

When you enroll in a doctoral degree program, OPT stuff should not really be on your mind. The research should be on your mind, because that's what you are going to eat, drink and sleep 24/7 for the next couple of years.

Dear Members - 

I did my Masters from US University. After my graduation have used my both OPT and OPT Extension. Have returned to my home country after completion of my OPT STEM Extension. 

H1b Visa was applied for me and Since I am leaving the country the Petition was withdrawn by my employer in the midst when it was pending.

Question 2 : Am I Eligible for OPT Stem Extension for Doctoral Degree program in STEM field

Regards
Senthil

1. Yes.

2. Yes

One OPT for each level of degree. Since this is your first PhD, you are eligible for OPT

A person who has used OPT is eligible for a new OPT after completion of a higher degree.

When you enroll in a doctoral degree program, OPT stuff should not really be on your mind. The research should be on your mind, because that's what you are going to eat, drink and sleep 24/7 for the next couple of years.

@ JoeF: In stead of saying couple of years I would say 5 to 7 years :)

• 3 weeks later...