comany ran payroll on me when i don't have work authorization

student08

Hi ,

I was a student of **** working with a big organisation on OPT.  I took vacation in my company from nov 8th to december 15th. When i was on vacation i recieved a letter from USCIS saying that since **** got closed  i need to transfer to a new school to maintain status. I requested tranfer of  my sevis to new school on nov 15th. Got confimation from the new school on Nov 18th (They confirmed  sevis transfer date is nov 15th).

I got a pay check from my comany on nov 15th.

my comany terminated me on nov 21st (?since i don't have work authorization)

Again got one more pay check on nov 30th after the termination of employment.

Since i don't have work authorization and payroll ran my name will it be a problem? or sine i am on paid vacation it's not a problem?

Kindly advise..

Thanks,

Neelima

Since i don't have work authorization and payroll ran my name will it be a problem? or sine i am on paid vacation it's not a problem?

Let's forget about your work authorization.

You said you transferred your sevis on 15th and got confirmation on 18th. Any real univ will not approve within three days, I doubt your new univ(?) is also a FAKE one. It's better to consult an attorney rather than joining in  some fake univ.

• 4 weeks later...

Hi Neelima,

Here are two institutions. Your university through which you got an OPT and your employer.

Did letter you received from SEVIS said since when your school is closing? If so then that date or date on which you received that letter is the date when your OPT and hence work authorization ended.

As you mentioned you requested transfer on Nov. 15th, one can say you got that letter around that time. But you took vacation from Nov. 8th- Dec 15th, so you stopped working well before you got letter. So your work prior Nov8th is authorized.