OPT application still INITIAL REVIEW since 100 days

Sua

Hello All,

Firstly, I would like to thank this forum and its members for being helpful and guiding with solutions.

I have a little issue. I am a recent graduate, graduated on 10th August, 2013. I applied for OPT with a receipt date of 12th August, 2013 in Texas. My application is still in the "Initial Review" and it has been over three months. I saw on the USCIS website that the normal processing time is 3 months and I have seen my friends getting their OPTs with in 2 months of application.

I was replied to a service request that I created by calling USCIS that my case is in "Extended Review". I am worried because I have a job offer and it requires me to start working from 1st week of December. I really don't want to miss this finest opportunity. I feel that I may not get another such offer.

Can I know:

1) what are my options to start working?

2) can I get a temporary EAD? (I was suggested by a friend)

3) can my university adviser issue an I-20 authorizing me to work? (I read this online)

4) how can I make my case move faster?

5) what is the exact meaning and processing time of "Extended Review"?

6) what are your recommendations or suggestions that I should let me employer know?

7) can an offer letter help me? as I am thinking to make an info-pass appointment this week with USCIS.

Sorry for so many questions, but I am really running in bad circumstances and will appreciate all your answers.

Thank you everyone in advance!

Sincerely,

Sua.

Please find my answers inline.

1) what are my options to start working?