Master's Degree in Electrical Enginnering, but working in IT

vishchakri

I did my master's in Electrical Engineering (completed in 2008), currently working as fulltime developer in American IT company. Planning to visit Vancouver, Canada for H1 B stamping.

Can anyone tell me, will it be an issue for H1 stamping (with non CS major) ?

Yes, you will have as your master's degree is nowhere related to your work. Would you be able to justify to VO?

Thanks for your response...

Most of my courses in MS do have labs/projects that required programming knowledge. Moreover, i do have 5 yrs exp in IT from the time i graduated. will it be enough to justify or do i need to write any certifications ?

Did you have courses about IT? If yes, how many credits out of your total credits during MS? I am not sure experience in IT is going to help you.

1) Was your H1B filed using your Master's degree? If it was filed on the basis of your Bachelor's degree and your Bachelors degree was in computer science, then you have no problem.

2) Assuming your H1B was filed based on your Master's degree, the next thing to be considered is - what kind of software do you work on? If you develop software for the electrical industry or you work on software that 'somehow' touches the area you specialized in while doing your masters, then you should have no problem (you'll have to explain the relationship to the VO). For example, I know someone who has a Masters in Nuclear Engineering (some of his courses were on reducing power loss while power is being transmitted). Today, he works in the power industry and basically writes software dealing with power optimization. 

I too have similar question. My masters is in Bio Technology and I have DBMS as one of the subject and I currently work as an ETL Developer /SQL Developer as an IT Consultant.

I was not sure about approval but when I applied for my H1B Uscis has approved my H1B based on My Masters itself.