New immigration bill - interpretation for STEM graduates

Can some one please interpret point III (page 305), from the newly introduced immigration reform bill.

I am aware that this is still a bill.., but wanted to understand what it means. I have a STEM degree and graduated in 2006 December and my LABOR filing date is March 2012. I am not clear if point III below is referring to the labor certification date or the date of the 1st H1-B petition by the Employer sponsoring your PERM. Can someone please clarify.

Below is the excerpt from the immigration reform bill introduced (page 305)

"(B) ADVANCED DEGREES IN A STEM FIELD.—

‘‘(i) IN GENERAL.—A qualified immigrant shall be admitted to the United States without respect to the worldwide level specified in section 201(d) if such immigrant—

EAS13500 S.L.C. 305

• (I) has earned a graduate degree at the level of master’s or higher in a field of science, technology, engineering, or mathematics from an accredited United States institution of higher education
  • (II) has an offer of employment from a United States employer in afield related to such degree; and
  • (III) earned the qualifying graduate degree within the 5 years immediately prior to the initial filing date of the petition under which the non-immigrant is a beneficiary. "

For foreign persons with U.S. STEM doctorate (Ph.D.) degrees, the "Border Security, Economic Opportunity, and Immigration Modernization Act of 2013" bill would exempt them from (and not count them against) the employment based immigrant visa quota, so they can get permanent residency (green card) directly with a sponsoring employer (think of it as a category that is always current).