H1b Filing in April 2013 - Masters Cap or Regular quota

Bluewater

Hi,

I graduated from ******* University in 2012 April.Since then am on OPT and currently working.My employer is filing my H1b next month and we are confused about Filing my H1 in Masters cap or Regular quota.

There are mixed opinions from friends , saying that as ******* is not yer accrediated , i cant file in Masters cap. But as a got my OPT and also applied for my OPT extension this month, i feel that i can apply in Masters quota. Suppose my employer files my H1 in masters quota , then what kind of RFE's i can expect.

And if suppose i get an RFE saying that my degree is not enough for Masters cap , then will they continue my Processing in Regular quota or are there any chances of rejection. Please let me know. Thanks

There are mixed opinions from friends , saying that as ******* is not yer accrediated , i cant file in Masters cap. But as a got my OPT and also applied for my OPT extension this month, i feel that i can apply in Masters quota. Suppose my employer files my H1 in masters quota , then what kind of RFE's i can expect.

You can't apply in Master's cap. Your degree is invalid. Obviously it will be rejected.

And if suppose i get an RFE saying that my degree is not enough for Masters cap , then will they continue my Processing in Regular quota or are there any chances of rejection. Please let me know. Thanks

No,they won't do that. Moreover, your OPT was issued based on this invalid degree, so your ext might be rejected.

If we are given OPT and OPT extensions then our degree should be valid right.

Do you know why your univ was raided??

Your degree is invalid because your university is not accredited and USCIS doesn't considers degrees from unaccredited schools. It's better to consult some immigration attorney for help.

Why USCIS is approving OPT's? That should be answered by senior members, as I have the same doubt.