Green card processing questions

undecidedh1b

Hello,

I got my first H1B in the year 2008, starting on Oct 1, 2008. I transferred to another employer in the year 2009 and started working for him from Dec 2009. I have been a contractor all this time and worked on 4 contracts over the past 3 years. My first H1B got expired in September 2012 and I got it renewed till April 2014 through my current employer. Now, I had to go to India for an emergency in the month of November and my manager terminated my contract without informing me when I was in India. I came back to US shocked to find out that I didnt' have a job. Now, my vendor at a previous place had a contract-to-hire position available with him which he offered to me only on the premise that I transferred my H1B visa over to him. I have accepted that offer and now the H1B transfer is underway. Now here are the questions I have in mind:

1) My GC hasn't been initiated with the previous employer. I am currently on a 6 month contract which might turn out to be a potential hire, and the client company said that they wait for 6 months before they initiate the GC processing which effectively means my GC processing is going to start in Jan 2014.

2) My current H1B expires in April 2014, but I guess I could get an extension once again upto September 2014 since it originally started in October 2008. However, if they initiate the process in Jan 2014, will I have sufficient time to get atleast an year by year extension which we are eligible for after 6 years of H1B provided the labor is cleared.

3) I am not sure about the requirement to get an year by year extension after 6 years of H1B. Do we need to just have an approved labor or do we need an approved I 140? I have heard conflicting answers. If it's just labor, I figured out that I would be able to get my labor approved before Sep 2014 in case my GC processing begins in Jan 2014.