Salary Evasion

GreenerPastures?

Hi there,

I went through the existing posts to see if there was any similar case like mine,but i couldn't find one.

Anyways here is the situation that i'm having with my ex-employer...

I worked as a consultant for almost 2years(~22 months) on OPT thru his company and when it was the time to file for H1B(Oct 2012) he filed my petition without any ruckus deducting the premium fees from my salary and at the same time i got an offer for a FT position from a client and they too filed for my H1B. Both the H1B petitions got approved and I opted to take the FT position and gave two week notice to my employer and the client that i was working for thru his company.

I was least expecting the kind of reaction that i got from my employer since he always maintained professional work ethics though being desi. He STOPPED my last pay check and when i called him he said he'll pay me in 3 months of time,so i waited till december to see him not responding to my e-mails or phone calls.

So, what are my options. I really would like to part with him on good terms but it really doesn't look that way with my ex-employer. I have seen some posts where employer stopped paying salary who are on H1B and the actions that an employee can take..

but since i was in OPT when i left his company am i also covered with the same safetynet of rules for a H1B holder..

Thanks in advance

Same situation one of my friend had. First of all, you salary is your right and not any favor.

You need to consult an attorney and have him send an official letter stating this matter should be settled with mutual respect.

99% employers will not mess with this situation and would pay an amount. Only thing you need to ensure is that you should be on same page with the attorney as to what percentage will be his fees before proceeding. You dont want to give away 50% of your money to an attorney.