In Person for TRV canada!! H1B visa

Priya_sudha

Hello Dear Friends,

Hope all are doing fine by the grace of God.

I have a quick question regards to H1B visa stamping to Canada.

i finished my 6 Yrs of H1B and based on I-140 I got my H1B extension for 3 yrs till 2015.

I did my bachelors in INDIA and came to USA on H1B - Mean to say I didn't do my Masters .

I am planning to go for H1B stamping in CANADA - Don't know which consulate yet But before that I need to have TRAVELLERS VISA - TRV .Wondering how I can get it - Is any consulate in USA providing IN PERSON to get on same day . I don't want to take risk by sending through mail .

For TRV - What all documentation I need to have . Pls guide me .

Thanks all your help in clarifying my queries so far .

All Yours

Priay !! :)

We can get TRV from the following Canada consulates in USA:

1. Los Angeles 2. Detroit 3. Seattle 4. New york

But, the problem is they not accepting in-person petitions anymore.

http://www.canadainternational.gc.ca/seattle/visas/index.aspx?lang=eng&view=d

same case with Detroit and new-york. I am not sure with Los angeles as i don't see any updates in site saying no petitions will be accepted in-person etc like stuff.... so, i think Los-angeles consulate is still accepting in-person petitions. (This too i think).

Also there is a strange statement under Seattle, Detroit and New york sites:

"As of June 18, 2012, the visa office in Seattle will no longer accept Temporary Resident Permit, Rehabilitation or Authorization to Return to Canada applications. Applications sent by mail, postmarked after June 18, 2012, and received at the visa office in Seattle will be returned to the applicant." - copied from Seattle Canada consulate site.

In my understanding they are rejecting even the petitions sent by mail after June 18, 2012... If am not wrong...

Even am bit too concerned as me also planning to get the Temporary Resident Visa.