I-140 Approved - Is it safe to change jobs

mpind

Hi ,

I am thinking of changing job . Following is my situation.

I-140 approved with priority date of July 2010.

My 6th year H1B is ending by Aug 2012 .

I got a 3 year extension based on my approved I-140 which is valid till November 2014.

Questions

1. Is it safe to switch jobs with the scenario above.

2. If yes how much time I will have to again apply for GC process

3. Will I retain my old priority date when i apply for new GC under new employer

4. With the current movement(its stuck in 2007) in the dates , does anybody see priority dates moving till end of 2010 by this year end ?

5. Please suggest the options for me. My current employer is in bad shape and not doing well.

Thanks

Mohan

Hi Newbie,

I am not an expert on this topic, but I've done extensive study of similar cases on Murth.com and following answers should be cross checked :

Since you have a valid H1 for next two years, you should be fine

It is much safer if you can have your new labor filed an year before the expiry of your H1

3. Will I retain my old priority date when i apply for new GC under new employer

Yes

4. With the current movement(its stuck in 2007) in the dates , does anybody see priority dates moving till end of 2010 by this year end ?

See the latest bulletin on Murthy.com. Doesn't look like it is going to move beyond 2007 until 2nd quarter of 2013

I have one question for you though. I would really appreciate if you can take a minute and reply this one.

You wrote:

I got a 3 year extension based on my approved I-140 which is valid till November 2014.

My Q: So when did you file for your H1 extension - need the exact month and year !?

I thought it is not possible to apply for a new H1 before 6 months from the expiry of current H1 !?

• 2 weeks later...

Hi Newbie,

I am not an expert on this topic, but I've done extensive study of similar cases on Murth.com and following answers should be cross checked :