H1B Visa Stamping in Toronto - with arrest record.

nkchimm

All - I am looking for some help / suggestions / opinions ..

i booked appointment for h1b visa stamping in Toronto for next week but getting cold feet to cross the border given that i got arrest record from 3 years back.

My background - I did my masters in US and graduated 7 years back. I have been working as fulltime employee since then for mnc with over 250k employees. I finished my 6 yrs h1 recently and got extention as my GC is in the process.

Unfortunate event - I got arrested 3 years back for driving with expired license. I didnt know at that time.. how serious it is to drive with expired license. My h1 renewal was in the process during that time and i didnt had a copy of 797 to get my license renewed. I had no other option but to drive with expired license. Unfortunately, finger prints were also taken when i got arrested. I recently got court document upon request and it stated.. "the case was paid in full and disposed off as guilty".

I am looking for any one who was in the same boat and would appreciate if they share their experiences.

Please help.

Thanks.

hi,

I am also in almost same situation. I attended interview on may 22 2012. Got 221g blue slip. Interview went well. Gave all my documents back and kept my PP and court documents. VO Told me that My case has to go through back ground verfication as There is an arrest record. It was a traffic voilation (Not DUI) misdaminer case happened 41/2 years ago. I guess they will send my case to the state department for further verification. I heard the state department are slow to respond and now I am struck in Ottawa.

Not to scare you but just wanted to give you an FYI on this so that you can plan accordingly.

But DUI cases are getting there visas stamped in like 2 to 3 weeks.

Nagesh,