H1B transfer from Construction to IT

dhaaravi

Hi,

I have a Bachelors degree in Architecture from India and Masters degree in Construction Management from USA. I worked for a construction management firm for one year on H1B and got laid off and immediately changed my status to H4. Now I would like to pursue a career in IT as there are meager opportunities in construction these days.

In this situation, is it possible to make a shift into IT field and are there any risks involved in my H1B approval if I find an employer?

Does my one year of H1B status in construction will effect the petition request for H1B in IT now?

Please advice the needful. I really appreciate your response in this regard.

Sincerely,

Dhaaravi

unlike the real engineering fields(Civil,Mech, electrical etc.) , IT jobs do not mandate degrees in IT...the underlying qualifications for IT jobs are mathematical and analytical abilities along with some kinda of software training..

there is some chance to get an RFE to prove that you are suitable for an IT job..you can avoid it by justifying it proactively in the cover letter with your petition..

Thank you very much for your valuable inputs. But one more thing.......

Actually, I've got 5 years of Project Management experience in Construction. Will this help to seek opportunities in IT Project Management. I was not into hardcore construction like civil engineers being on site, my role was always as an Analytical Team Member (Office Related) like performing duties using various software for Scheduling, Estimation, 3D Modeling using latest AutoDesk products. I was always part of Program Management Team.

Please advise if this would aid me in any way to get a break-through into IT.

unlike the real engineering fields(Civil,Mech, electrical etc.) , IT jobs do not mandate degrees in IT

They generally do.

the underlying qualifications for IT jobs are mathematical and analytical abilities along with some kinda of software training..