Successful H1B Visa Stamping @ Ottawa -EVC

rashiars

Hello All –

I am thankful to this forum for all the info and help I have gotten from here and it’s a payback time. Hope you benefit from my experience

Most recent H1B (renewal) stamping on Sept 27 in Ottawa, Canada.

Background:

MS from US

First H1B stamping – Ottawa, Canada in 2007 – no issues (FT, direct employee)

(This should answer your question regarding first time H1B stamping in Canada)

Interview Questions:

1. Where do you work, how did you learn about this job, what are your responsibilities (all in one sentence)
  2. How long have you been working in the US
  3. Who are your clients (I now work as a consultant as in EVC model)
  4. Do you work offsite
  5. Who is my employer?
  6. Asked detailed/ specific question about my duties

No documents asked except I797. Period!

The VO was nice and jovial. We left at a happy note J

Some FYIs regarding passport pick up:-

1. You will be given instructions to collect your passport from DHL (also, Loomis express)
  2. You will be required to enter the waybill number to check your passport status on the CSC website
  3. Trick: If you don’t know the waybill number by 6 pm the next day of your interview, copy your reference id from the application summary page (CSC website, after you login using passport DOB etc).
  4. Go to loomisexpressdotcom. Select reference id from drop down and enter the reference id. You should be able to collect info!
  5. Keep trying this. This is the fastest way. Once the waybill number shows up it literally takes an hour for the site to update that it’s ready
  6. Once the status is “undeliverable” it means you can go pick it up. The DHL is open until 9 at night
  7. The status on CSC will be updated at about 10-11 pm at night

Other FYIs: