H1B NOIR

whiskeyjack

Hi folks,

I recently did quite some research on H1B NOIR due to anxiety, and wish to share some of my findings in case someone is in the same boat. There are quite a few scary articles on H1B NOIR and revocation online, and I hope my post can provide some ease if you are scared like I was a couple of weeks ago. 

To begin with, I must warn you that I'm not a lawyer, and this post is not legal advice. If your H1B, especially the initial cap H1B, has a NOIR coming, talk to an immigration lawyer ASAP!

1. Revocation vs Denial

Some articles and posts claim that a revocation, especially after a NOIR, is a Denial of your petition. This is NOT TRUE. A revocation is a revocation, and a denial is a denial. Once your petition is approved, it, at least technically, cannot be denied anymore. It is common for employers to withdrawal a petition after you leave, and USCIS would automatically revoke the petition. Even in the case of USCIS initiated revocation after NOIR, there are still some differences. Here is a report by AAO, where an USCIS director issued a NOID to an approved petition, and the AAO agreed that denial after approval is ineffective and a NOIR should be sent instead. So, if your H1B, especially your first H1B got revoked, here is a good news, it would not be as if the petition was denied on spot after delivering to the USCIS for the first time.

2. So, I'm good?