I am very confused can I transfer My H1B,,,, pls help..

Baroque1

So great to find this Forum,

this is my first post.

I am a architectural designer.I get my H1b at Oct.2009. from my employer MMM

I left on absence from the office since Feb 2011, because of papa was sick in China. The office MMM agree with my unpaid leave, and has not laid me off since then, and they said they will not report to immigration deportment until I back to firm or find another employer.

the office stops to pay me since Feb.

I update my H1B visa in China at March. Multiple entrance 1 year. that s how I get in U.S.at May.

my visa expire march 2012

my H1-b expire Oct 2012 (I get H1b Oct 2009)

However, MMM has finance difficult this year, and laid off 8 people when I was in China. So they do not have money to bring me back to firm.

I will have couple interview next week! If I transfer H1-b to next employer, their attorney will need to collect and submit my last 3 pay stubs to immigration department.(as I know)

So, my question are:

1. Am I status right now is illegal?

2. If it is illegal, and I leave U.S. like next month, will it bring any trouble for me to back to U.S. later time with tourist visa?

3. what should I do if I find a job right now, and want to transfer H1-b?

4, If my H1-b has lose efficacy, can I apply another H1-b?

////////////////////////////////

and my friend find this clause for me, just wonder in which degree it match to my case...thanks! I think I need to have a better understand on my situation before I go and interview with other firms, which will happen next week!

////////////////////////////////

here is the USCIS rule about H-1B laid-off

AILA/VSC Liaison Committee Practice Pointer: VSC Liaison Committee Discusses the VSC's Clarification of Revocation of H-1B Status and Non-immigrant Status

Cite as "AILA InfoNet Doc. No. 09022076 (posted Feb. 20, 2009)"