L1A Individual Petition Extension Denial - Options

PhilHar

Hello All,

I went to US during Sep '13 on L1A Blanket petition (Visa validity was from Oct '12 to Oct '15) and received one extension (L1A Individual Petition) for 2 years in 2015 and my second extension (Individual Petition) in 2017 has been denied, after an RFE ! I have around 16 years of experience in which 12+ years I spent with the current employer who filed my L1A. I am a certified project manager having more than 8 years of experience in managing projects and programs.

RFE requested to provide additional documentation on my day to day responsibilities abroad & in US as a Project/Program Manager. There was a change in my work location and duties, between I filed my extension & responded the RFE. I provided as much information as possible, to address the queries in the RFE through my employer's attorney. As my I-94 has been expired (17th Oct '17) before we could respond the RFE, we submitted the RFE response through premium processing. I noticed the case denial online on Nov 16th, received a copy of the denial letter through my employer on 26th Nov hence wrapped up all affairs in hurry and flied back to India on 5th Dec.

The denial letter stated reasons referring my offshore & onsite responsibilities as well as a reference to the documents submitted as evidence against my abroad & US tasks, saying that they are not in order. There was also a mention about my subordinates' responsibilities too, saying that a graduate is not necessarily required to perform such job tasks !