H1 filing during Grace Period. F1 to H1

rmymhn

Hello,

I graduated with an MBA in Dec 2010. My OPT started on 28th Feb 2011 and it expires on the 28th Feb 2012. I am not eligible for an OPT extension since I do not fall in the STEM category.

My employer agreed to file my H1 but the quota for 2011 got filled before we could file for H1. So my employer wants to file for my H1 in 2012. I have grace period of 60 days from 29th Feb 2012 to 28th April 2012. Here are my questions,

1)    Can I file for a H1 during my grace period?

2)    What are the issues I might face if I file for H1 during my grace period?

3)    Say I file for H1 during the 1st week of April, am I eligible for a Cap Gap?

4)    Will I have to go back to India and enter the US only in October, if my Visa is approved?

5)    Until my Visa is approved, can I volunteer and work?

Kindly advice. I am in a big dilemma.

TY

H1 petition can certainly be filed during the grace period, but that does not give you any right to work after OPT ends. Since your current status (OPT end + 60 days) does not extend up to Oct 1, the H1 petition will not be approved with change of status. So effectively, that also means that you cannot stay in the US beyond the grace period. Consult an experienced attorney if possible.

"Since your current status (OPT end + 60 days) does not extend up to Oct 1, the H1 petition will not be approved with change of status"

That is not true at all. The OP will get cap gap without being able to work.

1. YES

2. The same issues as anyone...credibility?

3. YES

4. Visa and Petition are different. If your sponsor files your H1 petition with COS you can stay till decision. Visa is a physical stamp you get in another country..

5. You cannot do anything construed as work if you are in cap gap in your situation. So the best way is to have them file and then come back at the appropriate time with the H1 visa unless you are independently wealthy.