Advisory opinion mistake

moormoor

My friend applied for an advisory opinion and the letter states he is subject! He has never received any kind of funding from any government and his home country (Canada) has no skills listed in the skills list. All his visa stamps and DS2019s say he is not subject!

What can he do? Is it common that DOS makes mistakes in the advisory opinions? Can he write to them and let them know of the mistake?

• 5 weeks later...

I am in a similar situation - I am a postdoc researching cancer at a US university. I have never accepted home government funding or US government funding directly or indirectly, and my country doesn't have a skills list. My DS-2019's variably either say I'm not subject or are not even marked. 

A few months ago I wrote for an advisory opinion to double check before I applied for a green card, now that I'm married to a US citizen. To my shock it came back saying I was subject, due to my funding. I sent an email to the DoS for clarification, and their reply 1 month later was that I had accepted home government funding, because of "X" which had funded my research. The "X" funding body actually has the US state in which it is based in it's title - it could not possibly be associated with my home country - so it's clearly an obvious error. I hired myself a lawyer and at the cost of more than $1k wrote another advisory opinion to ask the DoS to correct this error and confirm I'm not subject. My lawyer informed me they make this kind of mistake ALL THE TIME, and considering how blatant and stupid this error is - even a moron could see that a funding body with a US state in its name could not possibly be associated with an entirely different country - I'm inclined to believe her.