Can I be an employed outside of the US while being employed in the US through H1B?

Infinity7

I got an offer from the US firm but don't want to leave my current job abroad.

Can I be simultaneously employed in the US by one firm and abroad by another?

My profession is mostly remote and alows me doing that. I will spend part of the year in the US and part abroad.

You can work only for your H1B employer while in US and not even remotely for the another employer.

In the responses I hear that it's not allowed to work for any employer while in the US.

Can I work for an employer abroad while outside of the US?

I looked at IMMIGRATION AND NATIONALITY ACT, but haven't found any limitations for emploeyment visas. Can

http://www.uscis.gov/iframe/ilink/docView/SLB/HTML/SLB/act.html

While outside US you are not subject to US immigration laws but to the laws of the country you reside.

When you are outside the US, you are not in any status, by definition. So, you can work elsewhere.

You should have proof that you only worked there while outside the US. You also may have to declare your worldwide income on your US tax returns. Der IRS Publication 519, Tax Guide for Aliens.

Thanks for all your responses so far. What I hear is that there is a difference between work and employment.

Does that mean that while in the US on H1B for employer A I can

1) work for employer A and

2) be employed abroad by employer B but be on vacation and that means don't work for B?

Thanks for all your responses so far. What I hear is that there is a difference between work and employment.

Does that mean that while in the US on H1B for employer A I can

1) work for employer A and

2) be employed abroad by employer B but be on vacation and that means don't work for B?

Yes, that is fine. You cannot perform any work for B.

jairichi, JoeF, I see you have different opinions about the question (which is fine) and that's exactly what I want to find out.