Can I bring my wife on H4 dependent visa

mohammed7860

Hi :

I have a H1- B visa, but do not plan to go to marriage to India as I am scared, I'll be delayed stamping coz I am a consultant and do'nt want to take the risk. I am planning to do my nikah via phone which is legal as per our religion. My spouse is not a citizen or Green Card holder of US. Will I be able to bring my to be wife to US on H4 dependent visa. If yes, what will be the documentation and processing requirements.

Your assistance will be highly regarded in this matter.

Thanks,

Mohammed Obaid

Hi :

I have a H1- B visa, but do not plan to go to marriage to India as I am scared, I'll be delayed stamping coz I am a consultant and do'nt want to take the risk. I am planning to do my nikah via phone which is legal as per our religion. My spouse is not a citizen or Green Card holder of US. Will I be able to bring my to be wife to US on H4 dependent visa. If yes, what will be the documentation and processing requirements.

Thanks,

Mohammed Obaid

Yes, you can. You need to register your marriage and get a marriage certificate in India

Hi :

Thanks,

Mohammed Obaid

Can you get marriage cert after 'Nikah' has been done??

My question is can a person get married without attending for his/her marriage??

In india thr are different marriage laws (depending on religion), and all of them have different requirement. This is different than registration of marriage.

But i believe to register a marriage by court -> phone nikah might not workout.

It will be better if your relatives can consult a lawyer (specialized in matter of muslim marriage) and get better opinion.

Well that was my doubt. I know what happens in nikah, but to register I guess that person has to present at that time.