Chennai - 221g (Pink) - COMMON MUSLIM NAME - Got Visa

ace11

People,

I was extremely troubled with the trend that legitimate guys with a common muslim name were stuck in the admin processing.

I was in the US from the past 6 years and my I140 was filed in the 6th year. So had to come to india and work (for the same company's indian division obviously).

Went for stamping around mid July 2011. My specifics are that I am a BE grad with 13 years of Exp with 'common muslim (M) name'. Model is EC.

The visa interview proceeded as normal and finally a pink slip was handed over which I was totally prepared for. (Was asked the master services agreement though)

In Mid Aug time-frame, got an email asking to submit birth cert and work experience proof.

And by the grace of Allah got the passport stamped on Aug 27th till my petition is valid (3 years) based on my approved i140.

Just wanted to let you guys who fall in the same category as me, that there is hope that you dont have to wait for 3 months or 6 months or so to get your visa. Not sure if the background check processing has somehow been accelerated or not.

All the best to everyone who is stuck in the admin processing phase.

• 2 weeks later...

Hi,

I have common muslim name "Ahmad".

I attended H1b interview at new delhi consulate on 20th july, 2011 and was given 221g pink and was asked all additional documents. I submitted the docs on 22nd July and now waiting. Any other muslim who got pink slip with documents asked ?

Is any other person with name "Ahmad" have had any H1b stamping experience. My employer is a reputed healthcare IT company in USA with over 5000 employees. I suspected TAL check but now it s around 50 days since I attended the interview, so I believe it should be name check only.

Any comments on the number of days I can expect this to be over?

-Ahmad

Guys,