H1B transfer denied due to having Electronics degree in Bachelor's

kiran436

Hi,

Recently my H1B transfer has been denied by USCIS stating that my Electronics degree in Bachelor's doesn't meet speciality occupation requirement. I have 8 years experience in IT and did all my jobs with same Electronics degree so far. It's very sad to have this reason to deny my petition.  Now, my I-94 also expired and suddenly Out of status. My employer is filling a new petition in premium processing by submitting strong evolutions for my experience and education. Did anyone see these kind of RFE or denials recently? What are the options in this case to get Status again?

For an H1, you have to have the equivalent of a US 4-year bachelor degree in the specialty area.

If you don't have that, 3 years for every year missing towards the required degree can be used. That means you would need 12 years of experience in the CS area.

Now, in the past, USCIS examiners may have interpreted the rule loosely. But we are now in the era Trump, and they are now interpreting the rules much tighter. Sucks, but not much you can do about it, other than telling your US citizen friends/co-workers/neighbors to vote against Trump and his party.

1 hour ago, gouthamsworld said:

Ok. I saw from another thread that you did masters from stratford is that correct ?

if yes does that have anything to do with your first RFE ?

That's important information.

OP, was your original H1 filed in the Masters Quota? A degree from a for-profit institution like Stratford can not be used for the Masters Quota.

On 11/7/2017 at 6:41 AM, kiran436 said:

Hi,

Our employer got education evolution from Stratford University for my experience and bachelor's degree in Electronics. I didn't attain Masters degree. What I thought is Stratford University is a private University which could not be approved by USCIS.

when you first applied your H1, did you apply thru regular quota or masters quota?