H1B petition with Consular processing Questions

smog

I will be applied for the H1B on 1st April 2015 by my employer, with consular processing option (not COS option). It will be a non-premium processing. Currently I am on OPT (valid till May 18 2015). I want to travel to India between 10th April-10 May, 2015 for marriage.

1) Is there a risk involved in consular processing? Do many employees use this option?

2) How long does it take to get the Visa stamp after I appear in my home country's (India) US consulate? I have heard tales of people having to wait for months while their status shows "Administrative Processing"? Do all consular processing cases undergo such "Administrative Processing"?

3) Does it have to be a US consulate in India? I have a Masters in Engineering from a reputed US university (Rank #42).

4) How early can I appear for interview assuming H1B petition is accepted in July 2015? I was planning a 20-25 days trip to India again in December 2015 to get the consular processing done. Possible?

1. No risks as long as you have proper documents.

2. If VO is convinced with documents then it is immediate in any US consulate. If not then administrative processing happens.

3.You can go to Jamaica or Canada. But, it is always suggested to go to home country.

4. Not more than 90 days before H1B start date (Oct 1st).

1. No risks as long as you have proper documents.

2. If VO is convinced with documents then it is immediate in any US consulate. If not then administrative processing happens.

3.You can go to Jamaica or Canada. But, it is always suggested to go to home country.

4. Not more than 90 days before H1B start date (Oct 1st).

Thank you Jairichi. The problem is, people post visa interview experiences only when something goes wrong (221g for instance). They don't post positive visa experiences. With all this negativity, it becomes sacry for a person who is going to appear for such consular processing!

Thanx a ton jairichi!