I-485 filing in EB2

Hi all,

I am an india born professional. My I-140 approved under EB3 category in 2011 with a priority date as 5/12/2009. Later in Feb-2016, I have got my I-140 approved under EB2 category with the same employer and my priority date ported. Priority date also mentioned as 5/12/2009 in my approved I-140. 

I have filed my I-485 based on current visa bulletin "DATES FOR FILING OF EMPLOYMENT-BASED VISA APPLICATIONS" which shows 01-JUL-2009. But, my I-485 filing got rejected stating my priority date is not current. I called USCIS customer service and they couldn't able to provide any additional information on rejection.

My question is,

Can I file I-485 based on current visa bulletin "DATES FOR FILING OF EMPLOYMENT-BASED VISA APPLICATIONS" which shows 01-JUL-2009?

If I can file, why USCIS rejected my filing? How could I get more details on the reason for rejection? Would it be helpful if I get an appointment with local USCIS to check further on this?

I appreciate your advice and response. 

Thanks

Arvind

Joe

Thanks for your response. I am confused with "APPLICATION FINAL ACTION DATES FOR EMPLOYMENT-BASED PREFERENCE CASES" and "DATES FOR FILING OF EMPLOYMENT-BASED VISA APPLICATIONS" under "employment-based preferences".

My employer asked my to file I-485 if my priority dates is current under table "DATES FOR FILING OF EMPLOYMENT-BASED VISA APPLICATIONS". As per "DATES FOR FILING OF EMPLOYMENT-BASED VISA APPLICATIONS", the dates for INDIA is "01JUL2009".  

Can you please what is "DATES FOR FILING OF EMPLOYMENT-BASED VISA APPLICATIONS" meant for?

Thanks

Arvind

• 4 weeks later...

Extract from USCIS Visa Bulletin. This should clear your confusion.