RFE for EB2-NIW

I work in MD Anderson Cancer Center as Research Programmer from 7 Years in Houston,Texas,I did my Masters in Management Information Systems(MIS).

MD Anderson applied my I-140-NIW in November 2014 and i received a query today Requesting for more Evidence(RFE) .

My RFE states that i do not conduct Research on Drus or trails ,so theya re asking me how am i beneficial to National interest? My scope is limited to MD Anderson so they are asking me how am i beneficial to Nation being in IT

MY NIW was supported by 6 Recommendation Letters from Colleagues and numerous documentation but we received RFE as i am on IT side.

Please let me know if its possible to answer this RFE so that i can get my I-140 Approved with no issues and further queries.

Do you have a lawyer? Is the lawyer experienced with NIWs?

Working as a programmer, even if it is in a cancer center, doesn't necessarily qualify you for NIW.

NIW means that your work has to be in the national interest of the US.

quite strange that employer is sponsoring EB2-NIW petition..as the only benefit compared to EB2 regular is that you don't need employer sponsorship and of course just few months of PERM processing time saved..

so better pursue the EB2 regular route??..

not sure what kind of "research" you do in a research programmer role....simply put- you can claim EB2-NIW if your work makes an impact nation wide/across state borders and US public is going to get benefited from your work rather than a local entity or a private firm..

Never heard of a computer programmer getting approved in NIW

Linus Torvalds, the inventor and maintainer of Linux. It was of course in the interest of the US to have the maintainer of Linux in the US...

But that certainly is a different quality.

The OP hasn't really said much about what he actually does.