H1B to F1 COS in USA

amohd

Murthy Attorney or anyone who is knowledgeable please help me clearing some questions.

My background:

I did my MBA in India and after that i worked for 3.5 years in IT as a Business Analyst in India and then last year a reputed employer here in USA sponsored me H1B and my H1B was picked up in lottery, then it was approved and finally i successfully got it stamped for all 3 years validity of my H1B.  I came to USA in October 2015 and since then I have been working on H1B and getting paid on time by my employer.

Reason for changing from H1B to F1:

While my employer sponsored my H1B he did my Educational Evaluation for my Indian MBA which was equivalent to ONLY Bachelors of Business Administration as per US Education. So now i am interested to further do my Master here in USA as a full time student so my educational would be equivalent to US Master with a hope for better career in USA or world wide as i intended to get into Managerial position later on in my career. I am not interested in doing Master while on H1B as i want to fully concentrate on studies and tuition fees for my Master is not an issue as i have my parents who are willing to sponsor for that i also have a brother who lives in USA from a long time and willing to sponsor me for my education.

Applying for Masters:

I spoke to the University that i intended to join and they said they can provide me the I20 for the next semester which is in March or May 2016 which ever i choose.My H1B is valid till Oct 2018 and my I94 is also valid till same time.

Questions i have:

1. I was checking online in USCIS processing times for H1 to F1 COS in Vermont Center as that's where i would need to apply and it says its processing the COS cases for Dec 2014 which means there is almost 12+ months processing time, is this correct or did i get it wrong as this sounds like a very lengthy time just for COS.