Shoplifting at Tiffany's, what to do now?

aarthi_24

I am a student and new to US. Last Saturday, my friend and I went at a jewellery store and couldnt resist taking a beautiful ring. I put it inside my purse when nobody was looking. They caught us when leaving and they searched us. Then, we were taken to police station and we were fingerprinted, taken snaps and had to stay overnite. We couldnt sleep and so tired. Moreover we didnt know how to get back home. We have to go to court. We dont have money for lawyer. What to do now? 

Aarthi when is your court date? Before DA office files charges you have to get an attorney who is very good.. Try to get charges not filed or if filed get a pre trial diversion without pleading guilty which will not cause amy issues with your stay and immigration. You will not be convicted if you take pre trial diversion because its your first offense.. Do not admit to anyone in court you did the crime. Say it was a mistake i did not do it. Also say NOT GUILTY. You can also get a public defender in court without paying money but they will not get u a good deal with the DA office. Contact me through email i can explain you all the things about this process..do not worry at all.. We can talk if you would like to ..

You need a good lawyer. It will cost a lot of money.

Check the website of the state bar association. You can find it through a Google search.

They have a lawyer referral service.

Also make sure that the lawyer knows about your immigration status.

If this gets tried as a felony, it could lead to deportation.

Aarthi: I am not from NJ so i dont anyone from there since i am from Cal. You can find 10 rating lawyers from Avvo website in your area.

1. Look what police has charged you with.

2. Did you get a citation ticket? What is the charge in it?

3. What is prosecutor planning to charge you with? See DA can charge you with anything it need not be what police has charged u with.