H4-->F1,OPT eligibility

ssat19

HI all,

I am doing my master in CS from University 'A',I started on fall 2014 as full time student(Taking 3 courses/9 credits) on H4 .I took 4 courses(12 credits) on Spring 2015.I have only 3 more courses left.I appiled for,COS  to  F1 visa on december 24 and my application is still processing @ Vermont.It shows it may take around 5 or 6 months for COS approval.

I was planning to graduate by summer.by taking remaining courses,but i am not sure about my F1 approval.I talked with my ISO office and they told me it is better to take courses on fall 2015 and skip summer semester as we are not sure about approval.

I am planning to skip summer semester and take fall semester. My questions are

1)If my F1 gets approved on May,june or July and I skipped the summer semester ,will I be in status,I have read somewhere you need to take classes on the semester ur F1 get approved

2)AS per my college, only requirement is ,student needed to be full time student for 2 semester(h4 or f1) ,and then you can apply OPT if ur visa status in F1.But if i miss summer semester,will it affect my OPT?(I have been a full time student in all other semester)

3)Is there anything i need to pay attention to or ask my ISO people? 

Thanks!

Jay

@Jairici,

Thanks for the reply!.

Can you just explain how will I become illegal?

If  F1 get approved before may 26,which is my start date of college I can start on F1 and join summer semester else I will have to join on Fall semester?as the class has already started. Is that the case you are talking?

Thanks!

Surya

@Jairici,

Thanks for the reply!.

Can you just explain how will I become illegal?

If  F1 get approved before may 26,which is my start date of college I can start on F1 and join summer semester else I will have to join on Fall semester?as the class has already started. Is that the case you are talking?

Thanks!

Surya