Unused H1B and fresh H1B

gnaray2

Dear Experts,

I was on H1B in US between October 2007 and April 2012.  I moved back to India in April 2012 and been working in India since then.  My H1B stamping was valid till December 2013.   Basically I did not use my full H1B period.

I have few questions:

1. Now if I get a job offer in USA, can I use my balance H1B  above (cap exempt) and start working ?  I researched the forum and found that I can do that, but just want to double confirm.

2. Say if I use the unused balance and enter USA on say July 1st 2015, can I still file a fresh H1B during April 2016 (I was outside USA since April 2012) ?  If not what are the options to extend my H1 B after the balance gets used.

3. I completed my Master's in 2006 with a reputed US university.  If I get a fresh H1B filed, will I be eligible under the 20,000 Masters quota ?

Kindly clarify.

Thanks,
Ramesh

Hi Jairichi,

Thanks for the reply.  Sorry did not get the first answer:

For 1) please let me know how I am eligible for 6 years if I am entering USA through unused H1 B.  Did you mean the employer can file a fresh 6-years cap subject H1B in April 2015.  In this case I have to wait till October 2015 to start working, right ?

For 2) if I enter USA in say July 2015 using the balance unused H1 B (which would be valid till approximately June 2016), can an employer file a fresh 6-year cap subject H1 B in April 2016 (I have been outside USA since 2012).  

And one more question:

3) if I enter USA in say July 2015 using L1 visa, can an employer file a fresh 6-year cap subject H1 B in April 2016 (I have been outside USA 2012).  

Thanks a lot,

Ramesh

Hi Jairichi,

Thanks for the reply.  Sorry did not get the first answer:

For 1) please let me know how I am eligible for 6 years if I am entering USA through unused H1 B.  Did you mean the employer can file a fresh 6-years cap subject H1B in April 2015.  In this case I have to wait till October 2015 to start working, right ?