Not paid on H1 for Initial 1.5 months

datawarrior

Hi 

I have came to US on H1- B in October 2014 , I have been working with this employer for last 3 months, But for initial 1.5 months he has not paid me any Salary since he was not having any project at that time. In his records he is showing my joining  date after 1.5 months, Now when I have told him that he is risking me out of status he is saying its not an issue. 

Could anyone suggest what are my options now, can I continue like this or could take any action ?

thanks

Anonymous

Not paying on H1b is illegal and puts you out of status.

Report against your employer using WH4 form on your state's DOL site. WH4 is made to save H1b rights.

They HAVE to pay you as long as you are their employee, no matters if they have project for you or not.

The sooner you complain, better for you. By not getting pain you are already out of status. By complaining it will prove that you are aware of your H1b rights and you care it. Not complaining means you are partner in crime.

I would suggest file WH4 today. You will be surprised to see how their tone will change. 

thanks everyone for the valuable information, I appreciate that.

My question do I need to apply for transfer first and then complain against the employer once H1-B transfer is done or what would be the sequence of my next steps ?

You need to file the complaint first.

A transfer would get an RFE at least, or an outright denial, due to being out of status. With a pending complaint, a transfer is no problem.

• 2 months later...