Salary (percentage) Payment for H1B Consultants

danageri

Hi,

I am a consultant and recently started working on H1b in Pittsburg, PA. My employer says he will be deducting followings from my payment : Social Security Tax (6.2%) Medicare (1.4%) Federal Tax (10.46%) and state tax (4.65%). I am aware of these deductions.

But he is also telling me that, an amount of $5.7 will be deducted per hour (approx. $11,000pa) for followings:

Automobile insurance 

General Liability Insurance

Professional liability Insurance

and he says these are mandatory and I have to pay this amount.

so, if I am earning, $60 per hour on 80:20 basis, he says, following is the calculation:

Description                        Per hour

Earning                        $60

Insurance -

Auto, Gen, Prof            $5 ??

Gross Earning              $55

Employer Share           $11 (20% of 55)

my Share                      $44 (80% of 55)

Deductions

Social Security           $3 (6.2%)

Medicare                    $1 (1.4%)

Federal Withholding   $5 (10.46%)

State Tax                    $2 (4.65%)

Total Tax                       $10

Net Earnings                 $34 per hour

so my Questions are:

1. is the calculation above correct??

2. why do I have to pay the General, Auto and Prof. insurance amount. I guess it is not mandatory(can I not opt for this?), if it is, then employer should pay it from his share of 20%. Please let me know your thoughts

3. Instead of my employer paying for these insurance from my earnings, Can I ask him that I will take care of this? (coz, he says I cannot do it and it has to be done by the employer ) OR is there any way that I can opt out of this?

4. my employer says, Medicare amount that is being deducted, cannot be accessed and it is only used if I am unemployed. I am really confused about this and my employer says this there will be no documents available on this? What is your thought.