Successful H1B Visa renewal stamping Ottawa - 26 Sep 2013

yubeie

Hello,

I've been browsing this forum for a long time and found a lot of useful information. It's now my turn to return the favor.

A little bit about myself :-)

---------------------------

I have been in the US for about 7Yrs and few months now. I came here on F1 for my MS program. I graduated and got hired as a FTE in Company A on H1B.

I got my first H1B stamping in 2008.  I was due for my VISA renewal since Aug 2011. I waited for 2 yrs to ride out the 221g storm (during later 2011-early 2012). Finally I made up my mind to get my VISA renewed with one year to spare. In the mean time we got acquired by Company B under sucessor of interest clause an year ago! Yet again I was a little skeptical but I made up my mind to take a chance.

I ended up choosing Ottawa for two reasons:

-I live in the northeast part of US

-Ottawa had abundant available dates!

Travel and stay at Ottawa:

---------------------------------------

-I reached Ottawa Sep24th evening.

-Customs was no big deal. The officer just asked me... what brings me to Canada and how long I intend to stay.

-I stayed in BestWestern PLUS -Gatineau,QC which is located right across the Alexandra Bridge. So, you just take a nice n quick stroll (~15 min) across the bridge to get to the consulate. It's a very beautiful sight with the Ottawa river and buildings along the side.

-I found the hotel for about $90 on Orbitz or else it typically cost $110 per night.

-Most of the people speak french and the food is expensive around this area. There is a McDonald's close by which is reasonable.

Interview Experience:

------------------------

My Interview was scheduled for 9:45AM on Sep 26th.

-I arrived at the consulate around 9:20AM.

-I went through the security check and completed all the formalities. This place is like a fortress which I felt was little too much especially since it was Canada!