F1 OPT - F1 CPT Is it Violation?

mavect

Hi,

I am a MS Comp Science grad working with a tech start up on F1 opt ( STEM ) which expires on Oct 15 2013. Just to give a little background, I graduated in 2011 and i took a couple of internships at major corporations before joining my present employer. We couldn't apply in time for H1B this year for various reasons as you know the cap was filled in the first week of April. 

Myself and my employer considered various options like O1, GC etc in consultation with various lawyers but none of them suited as i wont be able to make a strong case. ( For example O1 requires patents/ publications etc) which i don't have. 

As I am a critical member of the organization for raising angel investment / acquiring potential beta customers etc ( Although my primary role is development ), I was looking for ways to stay in the US. Thats when i came across the option of continuing on F1 with CPT. This college, *********** which is accredited offers that and everything seemed quite alright up until now. I read lot of discussions / forums stating the step i am about to take is a violation of F1 visa and subsequently cause problems with H1B application next year. I wanted to know if this is a legal/ viable option without breaking any rules and affecting my future work visa applications.

My last resort is to go back and work remotely for a year and apply for H1B in time next year. But considering my duties at the organization, It would be great if i stay out here for the next 6 months or so.

Thanks,

Srini.