Can I get CPT for a second degree?

raajg

Hi All

I did my Masters in food tech and did a one month of CPT internship and used up my whole OPT. As H1-B are finished till next year, to maintain my status in US I joined a community college for a associate degree in computer science

I have the following  question. I will appreciate if u guys have any information about it

• Can I get a CPT again while doing my associate degree.
  • Can I work fulltime in any company on CPT and for how long

If I can get another CPT can I work in a company in the field of my Masters or I can only work in the company related to the field of my current associate degree

Thanks in advance

you can do CPT (Part time)  again while doing your associate degree but should be related with your major. I think in Community college, CPT is offered as a course work or something like that. You better talk with your international advisor on this one. 

However, you can't work full time during the semester. You can only work full time during summer. 

If you get CPT from another company, you must show a proof that you are working related with your current associated degree. 

Hope it helps. 

@ JoeF Why CPT is dead!!! What if you find an internship in a good company and company loves you and would like to give you a part time job while you are in the school. 

So, still concentrate on studies and reject the offer?????

@ If you are filing H1B next year, join community college, apply for CPT, make sure  it is related to your major and work for it. Do only 20hrs/week.  Not more than that.  And file next year. During the summer, go for full time CPT. 

@ If you are filing H1B next year, join community college, apply for CPT, make sure  it is related to your major and work for it. Do only 20hrs/week.  Not more than that.  And file next year. During the summer, go for full time CPT. 

Are you not reading the news??why *** and other univ's in CA were raided??